Confession

Photo by Daniel Reche on Pexels.com

Hello there! Remember me? I haven’t posted in quite some time. James 5:16 says “Confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed…” So I need to confess that I’ve been ‘away’ because I let the enemy get to me. He got in my head. He used the voice of one of the closest people to me and it affected me. I stopped blogging to share God’s love with people, it even changed my quiet/alone time with God. Whenever I opened my Chromebook to blog I started to get really nervous, my heart would beat louder and faster and I would hear that voice and those words over and over in my head again. I would then eventually talk myself out of blogging. Obviously. My quiet/alone time was almost rushed. I treated it more like a thing to check off my list than the precious time to build my relationship with God and study his Word like it usually is. Or should be.

Y’all the voice the enemy used is one he’s used before. He knows how to get to me, he knows my weak spots. I feel like he knows as much about me as God does. But he uses that information against me. He uses it to lie to me. Since it’s a pretty commonly used voice in the spiritual warfare against me I’m not sure why I let this “situation” affect me so deeply this time. But affect me it did and that is my confession.

I shared this with a group of special people in my life a few weeks ago as well and I’m just now getting back to blogging and fixing my time with God. It’s kind of embarrassing that I let the enemy knock me down for awhile… again… but then I thought isn’t this kind of what it means to be a christian? Live the christian life? We fight the enemy on a daily basis. Some fights give you battle scars that God turns into beautiful, inspiring testimonies. Sometimes you get knocked on your butt for awhile and allow God to carry you until you can walk beside Him again.

This time, the enemy used this voice a few more times… kept kicking me while I was still down type of thing. Then, one morning at work, I finally just cried out to God! “I know in my head that this is the enemy, Lord! But for some reason my head and heart just can’t get on the same page! I’m hurting and down and I just NEED something from you Lord. Anything. Right now, please! I NEED You!” Then I opened the YouVersion Bible app on my phone in hopes of receiving that something that I needed from the Lord. The verse of the day that day was Psalms 139:23-24 “Search me, God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts. See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.” This reminded me that God knows me… he knows my heart and my intentions. To help you connect some dots and understand that this was EXACTLY what I needed from God in that moment let me briefly explain. This “situation” using the voice of someone close to me involved being told I was fake. In the following wake of that situation my faith was mocked and made fun of. THIS was all preying on a prior worry… fear… that I dealt with several years ago when I first started on the worship team at my church. I worried that I would be seen as fake. As putting on a good face during church and/or worship when I was actually fighting spiritual (and some not so spiritual) battles in my personal life. I learned back then that I was never being fake. I need church, God, worship. This is how I fight my battles. With God leading me…. and sometimes carrying me. I’m not being fake now either. I NEED Jesus everyday and He’s there for me every. single. day.

God is there for you also. No strings attached. Yes, I may have inadvertently described being a christian as a big battle a little bit ago but what we need to remember (myself included) is that God has already won the battle!!! He beat death. Who else has or can do that? No one.

Therefore confess your sins to each other and pray for each other so that you may be healed. The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective.

James 5:16 NIV

He is not here; he has risen, just as he said. Come and see the pace where he lay.

Matthew 28:6 NIV

Please enjoy our Easter service if you didn’t get to attend or watch a service today. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P_3CdBEC6Rk

2 thoughts on “Confession

  1. Satan is good at knowing just where to get us..I love the saying, “When Satan reminds you of your past, just remind him of his future!”. We are all still sinners and can be easily discouraged into thinking we’re not good enough..but look at who Jesus picked as his disciples! A true follower of Jesus still struggles with sin but the difference is WE STRUGGLE AGAINST IT instead of thinking it’s fine! And the Lord helps us. So glad you decided not to stay down! Hugs!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started